A few samples of chocolate custard recipes are provided here for you to try. A small amount of corn syrup adds extra density and richness to the custard, replicating the texture professional custard machines provide. Strain custard through a fine mesh strainer and chill in either ice bath or refrigerator until it is very … Churn your chilled mixture according to your machine's instructions. I like to switch between my whisk and a silicone 'spoonula' to be able to scrape the sides and bottom of the pan so nothing scorches. I have been making frozen custard for a couple years now and have the same Cuisinart machine you show in the pictures. I decided when I first looked at recipes that I didn’t know why they all call for a blend of milk and cream when it’s called Ice CREAM so I always use 100% Heavy cream for truly decadent, scrumptious ice cream. Frozen custard has a silkier texture, and is typically served softer than ice cream. Heat for 2 minutes, then stir. Just curious about the use of the corn syrup.  I love to make it the day before. The ultimate homemade version of the classic green bean casserole, with fresh green beans, a rich mushroom sauce, and crispy fried shallots. Hi Sue! Your ice cream mixture should always be fully chilled before adding it to your machine. Mix on low speed with an electric mixer until smooth. Cook, whisking or stirring constantly, until the mixture thickens. When the mixture is thick enough to coat the back of a spoon it's done. To geek out on it: according to FDA standards, ice cream must contain. I’ll definitely be making it again. Add the remaining half-and-half and the heavy cream.  I heart my ice cream machine. It took a few tries to create the perfect thickness and texture of a dairy-base custard without the dairy, but after just a few trials and only half-successes, I did it!  If it sounds like I’m waxing poetic about a kitchen tool, I am. If your custard hardens too much, let it sit out for a few minutes before serving. All Ri